Shani Dev

Shani Bhagwan

About Us | Contact Us | Sign up |

Shani Pooja

Shani Pooja

How to do Shani Puja? What mantras, puja, fasts etc?

Puja is a sacred practice of reverence, honor, adoration or worship from the devotee towards the Almighty. Puja could mean different things to different people. For Puja, all you need to have is a devoted heart full of love for the divine. The merciful God overlooks the shortcomings of men if they follow the path of spirituality with devotion. So, minor faults don't really matter, if the devotion is sincere. God is kind and grants blessings to the devotees with sincere heart.

According to Hinduism, a formal puja consists of meditation (dhyana), austerity (tapa), chanting (mantra), scripture reading (svadhyaya), offering food (thaal) and prostrations (panchanga or ashtanga pranama, dandavat). People apply tilaka on their forehead with sandalwood paste, and a vermillion dot (kumkum Chand) in its centre. The centre of the forehead is considered as the crucial point suggesting the omnipresence of the Divine. Puja is generally concluded with aarti to the lord.

Puja can be celebrated by an individual person or in gatherings. The ceremony may be done in silence or accompanied by prayers. Sometimes a puja is done for the benefit of certain people, for whom people ask blessings.

Following things are associated with Shani (Saturn).

Direction: West
Gemstone: Blue Sapphire (Neelam)
Metal: Lead
Ruling Day: Saturday
Flower: Vanni, Kuvalai
Color: Black
Associated No. : 7 (Seven)
Grain: Black Urad Daal
Food: Rice Mixed With Black Urad Daal
Dhyan Mantra: Nilanjana Samabhasam Ravi Putram Yamagrajam Chaya Mrttanda Sambhutam Tam Namami Shanai Shwaram
Shani Gayatri Mantra: Aum Sanaischaraya Vidmahe,
Sooryaputraya Dheemahi,
Tanno Manda Prachodayat.

In Vedic astrology, the planet Saturn is called Shanaishwara. Saturn is regarded as an emaciated God with long physique, big teeth and tawny eyes. Shani is indolent and lame. The temperament or nature of Shani is airy. Saturn is considered to be a malefic graha. It is believed that Shani can make a person, a king or a beggar according to the native's deeds (karmas).>

Shani Pooja - Worship Of Saturn
Shani Puja or worship of Saturn mitigates the hardships one will have to face during bad times. Shani Puja is also recommended to people who have Saade Sati of Shani in their horoscope. One is advised to recite the following Shani Mantra facing the west, to minimize the evil influence of afflicted Saturn.

"Aum Aing Hring Shring Shung Shanaishcharaye Namaha: Aum"
One can observe fasts on Saturdays and can take Khichri (made of rice and black urad daal), after the sunset. Saturn bestows all benefits to the devotees who pray sincerely to him.

Position of Shani- The Saturn
Shani is most powerful in the 7th house. Saturn rules over the two sidereal signs of Capricorn and Aquarius. Shani exalts in Libra and falls in the sign of Aries. Saturn is particularly a beneficial planet for Taurus and Libra Ascendants. Saturn is the slowest moving planet as it takes 30 months or 2.6 years in each Rashi and completes one cycle in 30 years. Transit of Shani can cause problems from Govt., peers, wife, children, slowdown in business, loss of property and leprosy etc.

Significance of Shani
Shani (Saturn) is an indicator of longevity, misery, sorrow, old age and death, discipline, restriction, responsibility, delays, ambition, leadership and authority, humility, integrity, wisdom born of experience. Saturn is regarded as a planet of darkness which rules over the dark side of human nature, such as the conscience (awareness of right and wrong). Saturn is regarded to be both a giver as well as destroyer. A person who sincerely prays to Shani is blessed not only with removal of the problems and worries, but a life that one desires.

Steps of Pooja

Each and every sect, family or an individual have their own way of doing Puja. Every time when you say ''samarpayami'' (I m offering), offer two akshatha with love and devotion to the lord.
(Akshatha is uncooked rice; if possible color it with kumkum, saffron powder, turmeric and a little bit of water. This can be made for a week in advance and can be kept near the Alter)

A typical Puja involves the following 27 steps:

  • Dhyaanam Samarpayami (Think or meditate on the Lord)
  • Aawaahanam Samarpayami (Offering invitation the Lord)
  • Aasanam Samarpayami (Offer a seat to the Lord)
  • Paadyam Samarpayami (Offer water to wash the feet)
  • Arghyam Samarpayami (Offer water to wash the hands)
  • Aachamaneeyam Samarpayami (Offer water to drink)
  • Snaanam Samarpayami (Give bath to the Lord)
  • Maha Abhishekam Samarpayami (Give main head bath to the Lord)
  • Pratishtaapayaami (Make him seated)
  • Vasthram Samarpayami (Offer clothes to the Lord)
  • Yajnopaveetham Samarpayami (Offer the Holy Thread)
  • Gandham Samarpayami (Offer sandalwood paste/powder)
  • Akshatham Samarpayami (Offer Akshatha/ Rice)
  • Pushpam Samarpayami (Offer Flowers to the Lord)
  • Ashthothtra Poojam Samarpayami (Offer the holy 108 names)
  • Dhoopam Aaghraapayaami (Offer Fragrance / Agarbatti)
  • Deepam Darshayaami (Offer light to the lord)
  • Neivedyam Samarpayami (Offer Food to the Lord)
  • Phalam Samarpayami (Offer Fruits to the Lord)
  • Taamboolam Samarpayami (Offer betel nut and leaves)
  • Dakshinam Samarpayami (Offer money to the Lord)
  • Maha Nirajanam Samarpayami (Offer aarti to the Lord)
  • Pradakshinam Samarpayami (Taking clockwise rounds of arti)
  • Namaskaram Samarpayami (Offer Prostrations)
  • Mantra Pushpam Samarpayami (Offer incantations and flowers)
  • Praarthanaam Samarpayami (Offer prayers, request your desires)
  • Kshamaapanam Samarpayami (Offer apologies & ask for forgiveness)
About Us | Feedback | Privacy Policy | Contact Us |
Copyright (c) All rights reserved / Designed by Indweb Internet Solutions